advice, lessons learned

Take Time For Peace

I know what it’s like to be busy. I’m seven months pregnant with my first baby, I’m a more-than-full-time college student in upper division classes, and I work part-time. But I learned this week that even if I accomplish everything that “needs” done, I still feel like I’ve accomplished absolutely nothing if I haven’t taken time to care of myself.

It doesn’t take much for me. Eat. Sleep. Laugh a little. You know, everything they tell us to do. But this week I realized how important a simple moment of peace is, and how far that peace can take me.

I’ve found that peace can rarely be planned. I don’t usually look at my schedule and say, “Okay, I’m going to plan in a 30-second peace session after breakfast, and then on Tuesday I’ll take a few minutes before class…” For me, peace comes when it comes, and it’s up to me to take advantage of the moment, or breeze on by.

As a religious person, I feel that a simple, peaceful moment meets a different kind of spiritual need that we can’t necessarily see or anticipate, but we know it’s there when our tank runs empty. I think it’s God reminding us that he’s still there and that he knows that our hearts needs to take a breather. I also think it’s His invitation to just. be. still.

So, I’ve decided to do the best I can to take peaceful moments as they come. Instead of passing up the opportunity to observe a beautiful sunset (because there will be other sunsets, right?), or putting off a moment to just enjoy my baby moving, I’ve decided to take a picture of that sunset, or sit still and count the kicks, because I know that there may be more sunsets, and there may be more kicks, but THIS exact moment will never come again.

freestocks-org-70276
Retrieved from unsplash.com

My Peaceful Moments This Week

To start recognizing the peaceful moments in my life, I’ve decided to reflect on the last few days and write down the moments that I’ve had:

  1. Took a picture of a sunset on my way home from class.
  2. Let a little boy I was babysitting feel my baby kick (he was ecstatic).
  3. Went to spoil myself with a sixty cent ice cream bar from the school vending machine (because I’m always hungry now), and instead said a prayer of gratitude when two ice cream bars fell out.
  4. Got to smile as I taught my primary kids to be grateful for fish (yes, that was the lesson title). They got a kick out of my homemade fishing pole made out of a wooden spoon, birthday ribbon, and a paper clip.

These moments didn’t take long, but looking back I can see that their effects have been long-lasting. I’m so grateful I decided to give precedence to something so small, because it’s made a big difference.

What peaceful moments have you noticed in your life this past week? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

