lessons learned

Warning: Potatoes Turn Black When They Freeze

Being a Celiac’s wife, I have to admit that I am SUPER proud of myself when I find a good recipe that fits the bill and the buds (that’s taste buds). But it usually doesn’t go without a hitch. This time the hitch involved potatoes and a very cold fridge.

Since the doc told me that I could get more magnesium from green, leafy vegetables (I guess magnesium can help pregnancy leg cramps?), when I came across this Copycat Olive Garden™ Zuppa Toscana Soup recipe (which includes kale) I thought, “What the heck! Let’s try it!”

Long story short, Garret started calling us “kale people” as soon as he saw it on my grocery list. I also read “64 ounces chicken stock” and assumed that meant the biggest container at the store (which was only 32 ounces by the way). And after all was said and done, we were pleasantly surprised!

Despite co-deciding to half the recipe until more chicken stock could be purchased, it turned out delicious and we ate it all within a few days.

Days later here I am with an hour to kill and I think to myself, “It’s probably time to make the other half of that recipe.” Well, it all goes great until I pull the second half of the chopped potatoes out of the fridge…and they’re frozen! And a third have turned black! *Gasp!*

(This was when I vaguely remembered hearing a story about a bunch of people nearly dying because their potato crops froze overnight.)

After getting over the initial surprise, and being the problem-solver that I most definitely am (ha!), I tossed the black slices in the garbage and crossed my fingers for the rest, hoping they wouldn’t be contaminated or anything as I put them in the soup pot.

The last surprise came when I pulled the kale out of the fridge. It was frozen, too! Luckily, it didn’t seem adversely affected in any way. I am proud to announce that the second half of the soup came out fine and I came out a little wiser because of it.

IMG_0036

Lesson(s) Learned: potatoes turn black when they freeze, maybe my fridge is too cold…?, and next time, I just need to double check that I have enough chicken stock.

Have you ever had potatoes go black on you or just had a plain kitchen disaster? What did you do? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

