Uncategorized

No Nightlights

I know I run the risk of sounding like a philosopher, but I just want to say that the next step in life is often hard to see! We have goals for sure, direction, determination. But let’s be honest. It’s more like walking down a dark hallway, without nightlights, feeling ahead with our feet for anything that could possibly get in our way. And when we find something, well, we adjust.

When I was little my parents got me a dolphin nightlight that glowed blue. In the hallway outside my bedroom there was a green square nightlight that helped us avoid the bookshelves lining the walls or the toys we may have left out. I never appreciated them for what they were until suddenly we were “old enough” to not have nightlights anymore. My dolphin went to the thrift store and the green nightlight (that was very old) was never replaced when it finally died out.

light-1010895_1920

As I’ve attended college, gotten married, and am now facing the biggest life change yet (pregnancy!) I feel like my life’s nightlights have all gotten old and died out. I am in completely new territory. I’m so thankful for my family and friends who have stepped in with their own lights at some point along my journey.

I came across a quote the other day by Edith Wharton that says, “There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.” My hope is that my experiences might be a momentary nightlight for someone else who may be going through life’s changes.


If you like what you’re reading, please follow No Nightlights to keep up on the latest posts, and if you like it even more than that, share with your friends!

© No Nightlights by Kyra Sutherland

Leave a Reply

